top of page

Cassie Q

People Demand An Explanation, And It's Better Be Paralysis


This is a story of how complete strangers manage to kill my mojo.

I'm often described as naive by my more cynical friends. I think the world is just one big playground filled with beautiful human beings capable of amazing acts of love. And then a person walks to me, needing to know what I have. "Is it paralysis? It looks like paralysis". "No it is not paralysis". Keep walking, next chapter.

Some people, if not most, take that extra step on rudeness and ask my mom what I have, as if I'm assumed to be unable to reply myself. And one thing I noticed is that if I'm with a friend or something, we don't get asked, but if I'm deduced to be with my mom, people just think it's a great idea to show her just how puzzled they are by the existence of her offspring. There's a whole power structure in place that always makes me feel powerless to do anything but to comply, and that's probably the worst part for me, because I wish I could say "hey that's rude", and I think my mom wishes she could too.

This doesn't happen all the time, and that's probably what keeps me going out unconcerned, giving this scene a looping quality. It's rather unpredictable, really, ranging from children to elderly, and has equal chance of coming from a janitor, a college professor, priest, business woman. There is no discrimination of any sort.

And I do understand that these people are really socially inapt and probably get into all sorts of trouble because of it, and I wish I could not care that they're only interested in satiating their curiosity and not in the actual me, but when it happens I'm just really fucking pissed.

Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page